Why I Think It’s Important to Have Role Models

No matter how old you get, there’s always going to be somebody that you look up to or admire. A role model.

A lot of role models are people who have achieved something that you also want to achieve, like a particular set of goals (such as weight, or a how many jelly beans you can fit in your mouth at once), or because they’ve overcome something that you would like to overcome as well (like a fear of heights, or clowns). It is also common to look up to somebody and consider them a role model because of a shared experience, or just something you have in common. It’s like a bonding moment even if you have never met the person in real life. Now with social media constantly in our faces, it’s easier than ever to “check up on” our role models and even find new ones.

For me, a role model is somebody who has a lot of the same values as I do, and perhaps is doing a similar thing to what I want to be doing. So it’s no surprise that a lot of my role models are actors, writers and people who are able to leverage their own success in favour of helping others. I am not totally without my own self-interest, I want to be successful at what I do, which means, if I do my job right, I’ll have some kind of following and/or influence. And to be quite honest, I want that. In this media-driven world that we live in, I see no better way to make change happen than by having some measure of influence. I don’t know what it is, but the majority of us are much more willing to consider something, take it seriously, and help, if it’s something that a “celebrity” has told us about. It’s like catnip. Or the force.

Star Wars: A New Hope | GIPHY |
Apparently we are all dumb

On the force note, one of my role models for the last couple years has been Daisy Ridley. She became incredibly well known when she was cast as Rey in Star Wars: The Force Awakens and has reprised the character for two more Star Wars films as part of the newest trilogy. Daisy is an incredible actress, and also seems to have a good sense of humour and great head on her shoulders. Seeing some of the behind the scenes content from Star Wars, i’m also a huge fan of the effort she put into the role of Rey in terms of the physicality. It’s not an easy feat to learn to fight, especially with a lightsaber (or a CGI stick).

I’ve also just found out that Daisy Ridley (reportedly) has endometriosis. So that is HUGE for me.

I don’t know how accurate that report is, but supposedly she was diagnosed at age 15.

To have somebody that I am already a big fan of have something like that in common with me is a big deal in my eyes. I am a fan of other well-known people with endometriosis, Sarah Hyland, Halsey, Larae Parker, etc. (click here to see my support page where there is a short list near the bottom), but for some reason when I read earlier today that Daisy [maybe] has endometriosis as well, it hit me in the feels. I really don’t understand why.

The fact that there are other actors out there [hello I am an actor] who have really had a rough time and have still become successful makes me INSANELY happy because it puts some perspective on things. It’s an example of what I can do, what I am capable of, rather than focusing on pain and doubt – which can suck you down into a Sarlacc sized pit. I’ve written a weird thing about self-doubt before, and i’d like to touch on how much I don’t have time for it. As much as it does exist in my life [and in my mind], it has no real place there – as in I don’t want it there.

But when you have a chronic illness, it will creep in regardless of your personal feelings on the matter. So, to see people out in the world being successful in my field while also living with a lot of the same [endometriosis] complications as I do, it fires me the fuck up.


To go back to the title of this article, I think it’s important to have role models because having people to look up to can give you a wonderful assurance. As human beings, we are so, so strong individually, but simply can’t overcome everything on our own. Not really. Which is where role models come in handy. Even if we don’t know all of our role models personally (sometimes it’s hard to find someone you really relate to in daily life), it’s still important to have them. In my experience, having multiple people you look up to can help to centre you, and even give you a wonderful sense of belonging because you now have somebody, or multiple somebodies, that you feel bonded to in some way. It just feels GOOD.


P.S. My previous self-doubt blog also contains Star Wars references up the wazoo. So enjoy that, and you’re welcome 🙂

Published by Erika

I am a freelance writer and Netflix binge pro. I have a History BA from Wilfrid Laurier University (Canada) but am a screen writer in my spare time. Hobbies include, but aren't limited to, playing the Sims, horseback riding, and lounging around.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started